Margaret Oliphant (1828-1897)

Death: 25th June 1897
Location: Town Cemetery, Eton, Berkshire, England
Cause of Death: Cancer - colon
Photo taken by: Clive and Chris
Buy books by Margaret Oliphant

Scottish Victorian novelist whose work is often compared to that of George Eliot. She is best remembered for her series of stories known as The Chronicles of Carlingford. Her first novel, Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland of Sunnyside, was published in 1849. In 1851 she started contributing to Blackwood’s Magazine and continued to submit articles for the rest of her life. 
In 1852 she married her cousin, Frank Wilson Oliphant, and in 1859 they moved to Italy for his health. After the death of her husband Margaret returned to England to support her children by writing. In 1866 she moved to Windsor, to be near her sons who were attending Eton, and she remained there for the rest of her life. She wrote over 120 different works, both fiction and non-fiction, and much of her fiction deals with the position of women in society.